ISSUP has been established as an independent not for profit company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales. It is governed by a group of International Directors all of whom have significant experience of the substance use field at both the policy and practice levels and from within the government and non-government sectors. 

The ISSUP staff team is led by its Chief Executive Joanna Travis-Roberts who brings many years of experience and substantial expertise of working with Governments, NGOs and international organisations in the substance use disorder field. ISSUP's National Chapter work is led by Livia Edegger in her role of Deputy Chief Executive. ISSUP's former Executive Director, Jeff Lee, continues to actively support ISSUP in his role as Senior Consultant.

The Board also has International Observers from major organisations in the global drugs field including African UnionColombo PlanOrganisation of American StatesUnited Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, and World Health Organization.


ISSUP was set up with assistance from the Drug Advisory Programme of the Colombo Plan (DAP) with funds provided by the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL). It now continues to be funded by INL, to support their remit to engage and support the global drug demand reduction workforce. ISSUP will seek to extend its funding base to become a sustainable contributor to the international field of substance use prevention and treatment working in collaboration and with the support of other major international, regional and national agencies and governments.

Board of Directors:

Honorary President: Thom Browne – USA

Chair: Melody Heaps – USA

Vivienne Evans – UK
Sue Thau – USA 
Prof. Michal Miovský, MA, PhD - Czech Republic
Dr Martin Osayande Agwogie - Nigeria

Legal Advisor: Mark Lacey

Auditor:  HW Fisher Chartered Accountants

International Observers:

U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL)
African Union
Colombo Plan
Organization of American States (CICAD/OAS)
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
World Health Organization (WHO)


Joanna Travis-Roberts – Chief Executive
Livia Edegger – Deputy Chief Executive
Jeff Lee – Senior Consultant
Becky Vaughn – Director of Development
Joanna Warburton – Finance Manager
Diana Crossan - Event Manager
Jack Tonkin – Senior Website Developer
Bilkis Achha – Website Developer
Luciana Bruno - ISSUP Website Officer
James Harvey – Communications & Marketing Officer
Previta Karthigesu – Communications & Marketing Officer
Olivia Woodrow - Digital Communications Coordinator
Kwadwo Adu – Digital Events Coordinator
Goodman Sibeko – Scientific Advisor 
Rasha Abi Hana – Scientific Support Coordinator
Hala Najm – Scientific Support Coordinator
Barbara Correa - Regional Coordinator for Latin America
Radolf Nortey - Regional Coordinator for Africa
Olha Myshakivska - Regional Coordinator for Asia
Kirsty Fitzpatrick - Regional Coordinator for Europe and Middle East

Website design by Mooli 

This piece of content is not translated in Ελληνικά. View the original content in English here.