ISSUP has been established as an independent not for profit company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales. It is governed by a group of International Directors all of whom have significant experience of the substance use field at both the policy and practice levels and from within the government and non-government sectors. Three ISSUP staff members are also included as members of the Board of Directors.

As ISSUP develops it will review its governance structure to ensure that it has representation from within its membership and its National Chapters and to ensure that the appropriate range of skills and expertise are represented within its Board.

The ISSUP staff team is led by its Executive Director Jeff Lee who brings over 30 years of expertise and experience of working in the field of drug prevention ably supported by his Deputy Joanna Travis-Roberts.

The Board also has International Observers from major organisations in the global drugs field including African UnionColombo PlanOrganisation of American StatesUnited Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, and World Health Organization.


ISSUP is initially funded by the Drug Advisory Programme of the Colombo Plan (DAP) with funds provided by the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL). ISSUP will seek to extend its funding base to become a sustainable contributor to the international field of substance use prevention and treatment working in collaboration and with the support of other major international, regional and national agencies and governments.

Board of Directors:

Honorary President: Thom Browne – USA

Chair: Melody Heaps – USA

Jeff Lee (Executive Director) – UK
Junjun Abella – Philippines
Vivienne Evans – UK
David Foxcroft – UK
Richard Gakunju – Kenya
Louina le Roux – South Africa
Paulo Martelli – Brazil
Carlos Ribaldo – Brazil
Riva Setiawan – Indonesia
Zili Sloboda – USA
Sue Thau – USA
Joanna Travis-Roberts – UK

Legal Advisor: Mark Lacey

Auditor:  HW Fisher Chartered Accountants

International Observers:

U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL)
African Union
Colombo Plan
Organization of American States (CICAD/OAS)
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
World Health Organization (WHO)


Jeff Lee – Executive Director
Joanna Travis-Roberts – Deputy Executive Director
Jack Tonkin – Senior Website Developer
Joanna Warburton – Finance Manager
Livia Edegger – Communications & Research Manager
Riva Setiawan – National Chapters Coordinator
Bilkis Achha – Website Developer
Ally Lee – Researcher

Accounting and HR services by Geniac
Website design by Mooli