The ASAM Alcohol Withdrawal Management Webinar Series - Fundamentals

Webinar,

Alcohol is responsible for a multitude of health conditions, including Alcohol Withdrawal Syndrome (AWS). While frequently presented in specialty addiction treatment settings, patients experiencing or at risk for developing AWS also receive care in hospitals, emergency departments, and primary care settings. The current management of patients with AWS is inconsistent across care settings and evidence-based care is often not provided. The ASAM Clinical Practice Guideline on Alcohol Withdrawal Management was developed to address current practice concerns and provide clear guidance that will lead to more consistent treatment practices in the field.

The first of its series, this webinar outlines the highlights of the ASAM Clinical Practice Guideline on Alcohol Withdrawal Management, and addresses related concerns raised during the current COVID-19 pandemic. 

Session Information

Date: Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Time: 1:00 pm ET / 12:00 pm CT/ 10:00 am PT

Speaker(s): Lewis Nelson, MD

Learning Objectives

By completing this session, you will be able to:

  • 1. Summarize the guideline’s treatment recommendations and discuss how they should be used in practice.
  • 2. Address the gaps in the management of alcohol withdrawal.
  • 3. Recognize the unique needs and recommendations during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Tags (Keywords)