Resources - All Reading Lists

Défis en matière de prévention et de traitement après la pandémie (Argentine-Chili-Mexique-Pérou)

Publication Date

ISSUP Argentine a présenté un webinaire qui a abordé l’impact accru de l’isolement et de la distanciation sociale découlant de la pandémie sur la qualité de vie des populations vulnérables en Amérique latine, y compris les enfants et les adolescents, entraînant une détérioration de la santé mentale et une augmentation de la consommation de substances psychoactives.

Prevention in the workplace: Reading List

Created by
ISSUP
Publication Date
Substance use can affect workers of all ages; therefore, the workplace may play a vital role in preventing substance abuse throughout their careers. In fact, the workplace has a potential role in promoting the prevention and reducing the substance related problems. In addition, it is important that substance use related challenges should be recognized as health issues at work, treated as any other health issue, and covered by health-care organizations.

Reconnaissance et prise en charge des surdoses : Liste de lecture

Created by
ISSUP

Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, environ un demi-million de décès chaque année sont attribuables à la consommation de drogues. Plus de 70 % de ces décès sont liés aux opioïdes, et plus de 30 % de ces décès sont causés par une surdose. Les signes, les symptômes et la prise en charge d’un surdosage diffèrent selon la situation et la substance utilisée.

Liste de lecture des expériences défavorables de l’enfance (ACE)

Les expériences défavorables de l’enfance sont des circonstances traumatiques ou des événements qui se produisent pendant l’enfance. Les recherches qui ont examiné les ACE ont mis en évidence le lien entre ces événements traumatiques dans l’enfance et le risque accru de résultats négatifs en matière de santé physique et mentale tout au long de la vie.

Liste de lecture de la stigmatisation

La stigmatisation est une construction complexe qui est présente au sein des sociétés à différents niveaux. L’impact de la stigmatisation peut gravement nuire aux individus et aux communautés. Les personnes qui utilisent des substances sont souvent sur le point de stigmatiser les attitudes et la discrimination de différentes sources allant du grand public aux professionnels de la santé et aux politiciens.

Resources - All Reading Lists

Overdose recognition and management: Reading list

Created by
ISSUP

According to the World Health Organisation, around half a million deaths each year are attributable to drug use. More than 70% of these deaths are related to opioids, with more than 30% of those deaths caused by overdose. Signs, symptoms, and management of an overdose differ depending on the situation and substance used. Below, is a list of research, publications, and tools on the subject of overdose recognition and management.

Stigma Reading List

Stigma is a complex construct that is present within societies at different levels. The impact of stigma can severely damage individuals and communities. People who use substances are often on the receiving end of stigmatising attitudes and discrimination from different sources ranging from the general public to healthcare professionals and politicians.

Substance Use Among Older Adults Reading List

Around the world, people are living longer, meaning the global population of older adults is increasing.

Older adults are often dealing with multiple health difficulties and are particularly vulnerable to the impact of substance use. There needs to be greater understanding about the reasons why older adults use substances, the potential consequences and the way professionals can work with people to reduce the risk of harm.